Skip to main content


 
Is there a way to get a non existent user removed from #Signal group chat? And why the heck do users need to leave a group before terminating their Signal account?

@utzer

You can't remove any user from Signal group chats. Users must leave groups on their own due to the way it is implemented (everybody has the same rights).

Yes I see. So if anyone else registers that number in the future that person can then join the group. But stupid IMO, but I understand if that is part of the technical concept.

@utzer

We never tested if someone can actually join after re-registering a phone number. This may be possible if no Registration Lock PIN was set. 🤷‍♂️

However, re-joining would result in warning messages (safety number changed) and prior messages can't be decrypted since there are no decryption keys available.

Yes, I figured so, we now created a new group and abandoned the old one, so the if the accounts reactivates it'll be the sole user in the group.